Two documentaries … and the words revolution vs movement

Umbrella Revolution
Umbrella Revolution
20150529 HKtv Revolution - Screen Capture of new born film title
HKtv Revolution

Yes, I can’t believe I just finished our second feature-length documentary. Two feature-length documentaries made back-to-back. And the second film is not a just short documentary as I wrote three months ago in case you haven’t been keeping up-to-date with the films via the official Facebook page. In fact, at 121 minutes long, the second “bonus” documentary is longer than the first one.

When I started writing this update last night, the computer was working overtime on our second feature-length documentary “Umbrella Revolution”. At one point the movie encoding software was running at 677.8% CPU load! Apparently things can push above 100% on a machine with multiple CPUs (cores) by an app with multiple execution threads!

Our currently 121 minutes long documentary ended up taking 4 hours 32 minutes to finish encoding. You know the crazy thing is that about 4 minutes (out of 121 minutes) of graphics intensive footage in the film involving four high-resolution gigantic graphics (1 big map graphics in one scene and 3 big art graphics in the end credits) had taken 1+ hour to encode, stressing out the computer!

I’m proud to have made the film better even yesterday as I found a perfect photo to use in one scene. Yes, people may or may not notice the photo but I would know and I am glad that I made that change. I am reasonably happy with our films now. And yes, editing “Umbrella Revolution” and looking at the documentary footage again and again has actually exerted a toll on me. A toll? Yes, how could it not exert a toll on me as I edit footage of HongKongers, not just Umbrella Revolution protesters but also radio and TV reporters, being brutally assaulted. And many of the criminally accused are still NOT charged or properly dealt with by the criminal justice system months later (as of July 28, 2015).

And HK police has effectively made a mockery of the HK justice system when, as reported by the South China Morning Post, “Occupy opponents arrested for allegedly assaulting a TVB reporter last year were allowed to wear shower caps and masks at two identity parades.” Wearing shower caps and masks at identity parades? Unheard of in HK until now. And what kind of precedences have these set for future criminals?

To end on a positive note, I’m happy that I can now say my “Revolution Trilogy” will three full-length documentaries: Long Hair Revolution (2005), HKtv Revolution (2015 work-in-progress), and Umbrella Revolution (2015 work-in-progress). Please keep your fingers crossed and wish us luck on our two films getting accepted by film festivals. So far, HKtv Revolution has been submitted to some film festivals and waiting for their decisions. And Umbrella Revolution has not been submitted to any film festivals yet as it has just been completed.

Oct 5th, 2015 update: About the words revolution vs movement. In reply to “陳健民:革命的誘惑“, I quoted, 李怡先生 “蘋論: 雨傘一年:壞消息與好消息” 寫得有理,”雨傘運動,有人認為應該稱雨傘革命,其實兩者沒有太大分別。革命可以是非暴力的顏色革命,運動也可以是顛覆性甚至帶肢體衝突的抗爭,如五四運動、美國獨立運動、民權運動。”

//To me, Industrial Revolution, Digital Revolution, Information Revolution, Internet Revolution, … none of these revolutions had shed blood. In 2005, ten years ago, I named my documentary “Long Hair Revolution 長毛革命” because I felt Long Hair 長毛 had the potential to change the mindsets of a generation of youth. Long Hair 長毛 didn’t and still doesn’t want to see a bloody revolution. Ten years ago I was taking a wild guess. Even I had no idea he would have matured enough (in my mind) to qualify as a “statesman” and one of the many LegCo politicians.//

For the record, Kin-man also wrote “Occupying Hong Kong: How deliberation, referendum and civil disobedience played out in the Umbrella Movement” in the International Journal on Human Rights.

Leave a Reply

